2008 S 4pc Presidential Dollar Proof Set

2008 S 4pc Presidential Dollar Proof Set

2008 San Francisco (S) 4 Piece Presidential Dollar Proof Set

Obverse designs bear a likeness of each president. Source materials for presidential portraits include the United States Mint's Presidential Medal Series designs, official White House portraits and intaglio prints originally executed by the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. The Reverse of the Presidential $1 Coins carries a bold and dramatic image of the Statue of Liberty, extending to the coin's rim. The Presidential $1 Coins also feature edge-incused lettering, "In God We Trust," "E Pluribus Unum," the year of minting or issuance and the mint mark.

Produced by the United States Mint at San Francisco, each proof $1 coin bears the "S" mintmark of that facility. These coins are produced from carefully selected planchets, or coin blanks, that have been burnished to a high luster. The polished blanks, which are carefully handled to minimize scratches and abrasions, are struck on specially adapted coining presses. Each coin is struck at least twice to bring forth the most minute detail with remarkable clarity.

The Presidents included in the 2008 Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set are the following: the 5th President James Monroe (1817-1825), the 6th President John Quincy Adams (1825-1829), the 7th President Andrew Jackson (1829-1837), and the 8th President Martin Van Buren (1837-1841).

Denomination: $1
Composition: Manganese-Brass Clad
6% Zinc, 3.5% Manganese, 2% Nickel, Balance Copper
Standard Diameter: 1.043 inches | 26.49mm
Standard Weight: 8.100 grams
Edge: Lettered
Mint and Mintmark: San Francisco Mint - S